You are here

sports medicine

EAH
on Mon, July 20, 2015
For athletes, drinking water is especially important. But did you know they can drink too much water? It’s a condition called exercise-associated hyponatremia...
on Wed, July 15, 2015
The term “pitch count” wasn’t prominent when Jim Walker, MD, played youth baseball in the southcentral Kansas town of Nickerson. Schedules that were lean on...
shin splints
on Thu, April 16, 2015
Another winter has come to pass here in Kansas, and thankfully we are all headed back outside to enjoy the sun and warm air. It’s usually this time of year...
sore muscles
on Mon, March 30, 2015
If you’ve had a particularly hard workout, and your muscles are sore even a couple of days after exercising, is it safe to exercise them? According to the...
on Thu, March 19, 2015
I am sometimes asked what are some of the most common myths I run into practicing sports medicine. Here are three that come to mind: MYTH: Athletes should...
Via Christi Sports Medicine
on Mon, January 26, 2015
Each time a Wichita State basketball student-athlete thrills the crowd with a jumper or a blocked shot this season, a team from Via Christi is right alongside...
on Mon, January 12, 2015
As I headed out recently for a morning run, I was almost paralyzed by the rush of frosty air. I made it about a quarter of a mile before turning back and...
on Tue, September 23, 2014
More than 40 percent of youth athletes say they have hidden or downplayed an injury to stay on the court or field, according to a new study from Safe Kids...
on Fri, September 19, 2014
Could a root vegetable be at the root of Auburn’s football victory over K-State Thursday night? The Wall Street Journal noted in a story this week that during...
on Wed, September 17, 2014
I’m a big believer in the power of exercise.  No single pill can come close to the positive effects of exercise. It can help with depression, high blood...

Pages