You are here

senior care

Delirium
on Tue, August 16, 2016
Delirium refers to a severe state of confusion in which the patient cannot think clearly, has difficulty understanding or paying attention and could suffers...
Alzheimer's fundraiser
on Tue, June 28, 2016
For more than 40 years, Roger Dale lived the sweet life — sharing his passion for art with the students he taught at Wichita West High School, in Arkansas, in...
James Thorns
on Wed, June 15, 2016
David Karlin is passionate about creating a great home for elderly Kansans. As the executive director of Via Christi Village in Hays, Karlin and his team of...
Dementia
on Wed, June 01, 2016
Dementia is a symptom of a disease, not the disease itself. “It’s similar to cancer in the way that there are many types of dementia and different types will...
Glenda King
on Tue, May 31, 2016
What’s the secret to happiness? Shawn Achor, an author and expert in positive psychology, says kindness and gratitude are two keys to leading a happier life...
Adventure Club
on Tue, May 24, 2016
There’s a film from 1969 called "If It’s Tuesday, This Must Be Belgium." At Via Christi Village on Ridge, the theme could be applied to their new Adventure...
Skilled nursing
on Mon, May 09, 2016
Skilled nursing helps patients transition safely to home after a hospitalization. The patient may not be quite ready to be at home, whether it’s a safety issue...
Agnes Hatlelid
on Mon, April 25, 2016
On Sunday, May 29, the Hatlelid family will come from across the U.S. and gather at Via Christi Village in Ponca City, Oklahoma, to celebrate their matriarch,...
Welcome Buddies at Via Christi Village on Georgetown
on Mon, April 11, 2016
Mary Wood remembers the day when she first arrived at Via Christi Village on Georgetown in Wichita. After the whirlwind activity of moving in, she remembers...
Hip fracture
on Tue, March 22, 2016
When an elderly neighbor fell and broke a hip last year, I was concerned. I knew a broken hip meant a difficult recovery, and sadly, could even result in death...

Pages