You are here

safety

Bandage
on Tue, November 29, 2016
What’s the best way to clean a minor cut or scrape? It’s not to pour hydrogen peroxide or rubbing alcohol over the open wound, says Anthony Shaver, an...
Oak leaf and acorns
on Fri, November 11, 2016
Have you spent the afternoon working in the yard under the shade of your sprawling oak tree, then awakened the next morning to find your face, neck arms and...
Smoke alarm
on Mon, October 31, 2016
Did you know that all home smoke detectors should be replaced every 10 years? As these devices age, they don’t detect smoke as well as a new detector. How do...
Preventing burns
on Mon, October 24, 2016
With cooler temperatures on the way, in the fall we tend to see specific burn injuries as a result of people trying to stay warm. The Via Christi Regional...
West Nile mosquito
on Wed, August 17, 2016
We have seen two cases of West Nile virus at Via Christi Hospital St. Francis recently, so it’s a good time to think about the prevention of mosquito bites....
on Mon, July 25, 2016
Although farmers work with heavy, dangerous equipment and chemicals, people don’t often see farming as a hazardous profession. But for those who work in...
Heat illness
on Thu, July 21, 2016
We’ve been experiencing something of a heat wave for most of the past week here in Kansas. The biggest thing people need to realize when high temperatures hit...
Cookie dough
on Thu, June 30, 2016
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has announced that it’s not safe to eat raw cookie dough or batter. Most people have probably heard that eating raw...
Teen texting
on Wed, June 29, 2016
Congratulations to Hannah Buller, Emma Darrow and Yahaira Rutiaga, students at Goddard High School, who recently won a video contest through the southcentral...
Sparkler
on Sun, June 26, 2016
One way many people celebrate is by buying fireworks. While they can be pretty to look at, fireworks can be dangerous if not handled properly. It’s important...

Pages