You are here

safety

Zika mosquito
on Mon, February 01, 2016
The Zika virus is a virus that is transmitted by mosquitoes. It’s been around for more than the recent past, but it really became prominently covered in the...
on Mon, January 25, 2016
With cold temperatures here to stay, it’s a good time for a refresher on how to keep infants and children safe in the winter months.  When parents of newborns...
on Fri, December 18, 2015
It’s been awhile since my own kids were toddling around the house, but my four energetic great nephews – all under the age of 3 – have made me a pro when it...
Raw chicken food recall
on Tue, December 15, 2015
Nearly every week, food manufacturers or federal government agencies such as the Food and Drug Administration and the U.S. Department of Agriculture issue a...
Christmas toy safety
on Thu, December 03, 2015
As children write their holiday wish lists, it’s important for adults to know that most toys are not one-size-fits-all. Catalogs, television commercials, store...
on Tue, October 06, 2015
According to recent news reports, poison control centers have seen a nearly 400 percent increase in calls related to children age 12 and under ingesting hand...
on Wed, September 23, 2015
When we bought our son his first bicycle last year, we bought him his first bicycle helmet, too. We wouldn’t have had it any other way. And now, as he and I...
on Mon, September 14, 2015
Traffic crashes are a serious issue in Kansas. In 2013, 350 people were killed and 18,077 people were injured on Kansas roadways. So what happens if a parent...
on Thu, September 10, 2015
Summer is winding down, but for some people that means outdoor activities and projects are just beginning. The prospect of cooler temperatures motivates many...
Tinnitus
on Tue, July 21, 2015
Many people have experienced the temporary buzzing or ringing in their ears at the conclusion of a loud concert, or after a thunderous fireworks explosion. But...

Pages