You are here

safety

on Fri, April 03, 2015
As owners of three dogs who like to venture off into wooded areas and ponds, our family is accustomed to finding an occasional tick on one of our furry pals....
girl calling 911
on Mon, March 09, 2015
I recently read about a four-year-old girl who called 911 when her mom — who was nine months pregnant — was having a seizure. The girl remained calm, provided...
Severe Weather Week
on Mon, March 02, 2015
Severe weather season is upon us.  Severe Weather Awareness Week is March 2-6, which is a great time to prepare for Kansas’ severe weather season, says...
TV tipovers
on Wed, January 28, 2015
Did you get a new TV in time for the Super Bowl this weekend? If so, did you secure your television to the wall? What did you do with your old television? For...
on Mon, January 12, 2015
The popularity of e-cigarettes is rapidly spreading however this relatively new industry is already responsible for considerable harm to US children. E-...
on Tue, December 30, 2014
Recently, my 22-year-old daughter slipped and fell on a wet floor where she works. She fractured and dislocated her shoulder, which puts her out of the...
medication safety
on Mon, December 29, 2014
Safe Kids Worldwide recently released a new research report that found kids are getting into medicine at an alarming rate. Every minute of every day, a poison...
on Tue, November 25, 2014
With Thanksgiving fast approaching, many are getting ready to plan their holiday meal. One popular way of cooking a Thanksgiving turkey is deep frying it....
on Thu, November 13, 2014
As I drove home along East 21st Street last night, I passed two young deer standing just a few yards back from the busy road. With numerous farmsteads and...
on Wed, November 12, 2014
Many parents have had the experience of a little one falling and hitting their head. Most of the time it’s a harmless injury that mostly just frightens the...

Pages