You are here

safety

on Tue, November 20, 2018
For every mile driven, drivers ages 16 to 19 are nearly three times more likely than drivers 20 and older to be in a fatal crash, according to the Center for...
on Thu, November 08, 2018
When it comes to promoting pressure injury prevention and patient safety, Via Christi nurses have “skin” in the game. That is, SKIN as in Surface, Keep...
girl on swim tube splashing
on Tue, August 28, 2018
Headed to the lake with your family Labor Day weekend? Be aware, according to a study by Safe Kids Worldwide, more children and teens drown in open water than...
heat stroke water
on Fri, June 29, 2018
We’ve been experiencing something of a heat wave here in Kansas. The biggest thing people need to realize when high temperatures hit is that heat can be...
Fireworks
on Wed, June 27, 2018
Watching Fourth of July fireworks may be fun, but the most beautiful firework display can turn ugly in an instant when not used safely. Mishandled or...
Mosquito repellant
on Wed, June 20, 2018
Buzz. Buzz. Now that children are out of school for the summer, the buzzing you hear may be from insects and bugs outside instead of their cell phones and...
bonfire marshmallows
on Thu, May 17, 2018
While burn injuries can occur at any time of year, summer is a time when we tend to see different types of preventable injuries, mostly due to outdoor...
tornado photo
on Tue, May 01, 2018
Severe weather season is upon us. Now is a great time to prepare for Kansas’ severe weather season, says Carolyn Koehn, director of Safety and Emergency...
KHP Trooper Tiffany Bush
on Mon, April 30, 2018
Trooper Tiffany Bush worked to pack a length of gauze into a deep, artificial puncture wound then she tightly wrapped the area with a pressure dressing.  The...
baby girl in car seat
on Tue, January 23, 2018
With cold temperatures here in full force, it’s a good time for a refresher on how to keep infants and children safe in the winter months. When parents of...

Pages