You are here

patient stories

Nurse navigation
on Mon, May 01, 2017
Nurse navigator Lisa Thomas, RN, reviews notes at her office workstation in northeast Wichita as she prepares for a virtual visit with her next patient. She...
Christy Maskil for blog
on Tue, April 25, 2017
Five days a week for six weeks, Christy Maskil drove 150 miles roundtrip from rural Sterling, Kansas, to receive 15-minute radiation treatments for breast...
Medical Mission at Home
on Wed, April 12, 2017
Latisha Friday knows the importance of keeping kids healthy. She also knows it’s expensive. So Latisha came to Fairmount Park on Saturday, five children by...
Max Ulrich tricycle
on Mon, April 10, 2017
Max Ulrich and his big brother, Micah, love playing outside — especially riding their bikes near their Wichita home. For most kids, this wouldn’t be a big...
on Fri, March 31, 2017
Like many young women, Kristen Nichols had spent countless hours planning her wedding since getting engaged two years ago. But as the Saturday, March 25,...
Kelby Harrison
on Wed, March 29, 2017
It was a typical trip to the YMCA for Sedgwick County Fire Department Capt. Kelby Harrison and his station mates: work out, then play a quick game of hoops. ...
on Wed, March 22, 2017
Hope. That’s all Mark McCaslin was looking for. When Mark came to Ascension Via Christi Rehabilitation Hospital in Wichita in May 2016, he had been in another...
Connie Forkenbrock
on Mon, February 20, 2017
Last summer, Connie and Ron Forkenbrock were looking forward to a good night’s sleep after a busy evening with their grandsons, Pryse, 6, and Donnie Ray, 10,...
Cheryl Busada
on Sat, February 11, 2017
Cheryl Busada has always struggled with her weight. “I’ve always been heavy, even in high school,” Cheryl says. “I have really struggled with my weight and...
Ruby Wright
on Fri, February 03, 2017
Like her mother before her, Ruby Wright earned her nursing degree and for nearly four decades used what she’d learned to take great care of herself, her family...

Pages