You are here

parenting

toddler coughing
on Tue, April 28, 2015
As a parent, listening to any of my children cough through the night is simultaneously frustrating and heartbreaking. For my wife and me, this is especially...
autism spectrum disorder
on Wed, April 22, 2015
Because autism spectrum disorder (ASD) diagnoses are growing so rapidly, educating ourselves about the disorder can help us better understand the children and...
whooping cough
on Mon, April 20, 2015
You may have recently heard about a few cases of whooping cough in our community, and might have questions about the disease.    There are actually three...
on Thu, April 16, 2015
The frequency at which children are admitted to the hospital with constipation is a growing concern. Certainly, constipation can occur as a result of illnesses...
tetanus shot
on Thu, April 09, 2015
Tetanus, sometimes called lockjaw, is a bacterial infection affecting nerves and can lead to muscle spasms in the abdomen, neck, and extremities. The disease...
on Wed, April 08, 2015
Within a single generation, chickenpox, also known as the varicella virus, has gone from common place to very rare in the United States. Most adults...
on Fri, April 03, 2015
As owners of three dogs who like to venture off into wooded areas and ponds, our family is accustomed to finding an occasional tick on one of our furry pals....
on Wed, March 25, 2015
"Can I lose weight while breastfeeding?" This is the very question which I asked myself especially with my first baby nearly 21 years ago. At that time, I was...
on Tue, March 17, 2015
Most babies will spit up at one point or another, but when should you be concerned about how much or how frequently your infant spits up? When a baby spits up...
on Thu, March 12, 2015
Summer, winter, spring or fall, kids love macaroni and cheese.  Here’s a light, low-fat version that, when paired with a fresh spinach and tomato salad, is...

Pages