You are here

parenting

fireworks safety
on Mon, June 29, 2015
Lynnette Spencer has seen the damage fireworks can do. As burn program coordinator for Via Christi Regional Burn Center in Wichita, she understands how even...
on Wed, June 24, 2015
One of the best ways parents and children can interact is by reading books together. There have been numerous studies on the benefits of reading to children as...
Father's Day blog post
on Sun, June 14, 2015
Note: Steve James, who will celebrate his first Father's Day on Sunday, helped his wife deliver their first child, a daughter named Paisley, at the Via Christi...
on Thu, June 11, 2015
Every year, we hear warnings about not leaving children in hot cars. And every year, despite those warnings, dozens of children die from heatstroke in a...
on Wed, June 03, 2015
Swimmer’s ear is a common ailment among children (and adults) during the summer months. But it’s not a generic term for an ear infection and, if your child...
on Thu, May 28, 2015
Acute otitis media — commonly known as an ear infection — is a painful nuisance commonly treated with a round of antibiotics. So I was a bit surprised when my...
on Tue, May 26, 2015
Adolescence is a challenging time for most people, and that can especially be true for young athletes. As young people try to find their way socially and...
breastfeeding baby
on Thu, May 21, 2015
For many first-time parents, it can be scary bringing home a new baby. You want to be sure they are eating well and having the appropriate number of dirty...
nightlight
on Thu, May 14, 2015
With a baby boy who wakes several times and often still drinks a bottle at night, getting a sound night’s sleep is rare in my house. He’s currently still...
energy drinks
on Wed, May 13, 2015
Do you have too much to do? Too many things on your plate? Too many school finals? Balls in the air? Of course you do. It wouldn't be 21st century America if...

Pages