You are here

sports medicine

Via Christi Sports Medicine
on Mon, January 26, 2015
Each time a Wichita State basketball student-athlete thrills the crowd with a jumper or a blocked shot this season, a team from Via Christi is right alongside...
on Mon, January 12, 2015
As I headed out recently for a morning run, I was almost paralyzed by the rush of frosty air. I made it about a quarter of a mile before turning back and...
on Tue, September 23, 2014
More than 40 percent of youth athletes say they have hidden or downplayed an injury to stay on the court or field, according to a new study from Safe Kids...
on Fri, September 19, 2014
Could a root vegetable be at the root of Auburn’s football victory over K-State Thursday night? The Wall Street Journal noted in a story this week that during...
on Wed, September 17, 2014
I’m a big believer in the power of exercise.  No single pill can come close to the positive effects of exercise. It can help with depression, high blood...
on Thu, August 28, 2014
One of our Via Christi Sports Medicine physicians has developed a unique way of keeping his six children, ages 4 months to 11 years, active. Andrew Porter, DO...
stretching
on Mon, April 21, 2014
Many people suffer from aches and pains associated with stress and muscle tension. But what they may not know is that their discomfort can be alleviated by...
on Tue, March 25, 2014
Many parents will ask why their child, especially a teenager, needs to have a regular check-up despite a recent sports physical that was normal. The answer is...
Concussion patient Faith VanBecelaere
on Wed, October 09, 2013
In basketball, loose balls can help a team gain possession, score points and win games. Every basketball team practices loose-ball drills. They are, in essence...
teen athletes
on Tue, September 10, 2013
When you hear of young athletes suddenly collapsing during practice, many parents undoubtedly became concerned about their own student athletes and the...

Pages